This is the "Annotation Guide" page of the "Annotation Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

An online guide to assist students at LaGrange College with Annotated Bibliography assignments.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2014 URL: http://lagrange.campusguides.com/AnnotationGuide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Annotation Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citation Manuals

Use the call number below each book to find these style manuals in Lewis Library's Reference collection (located on the main/2nd floor) OR click on the book or book title to view an online version of the style guide!

Cover Art
MLA handbook for writers of research papers
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2009
ISBN: 1603290249

Cover Art
The Chicago manual of style
Call Number: REF PN147 .U699 2010
ISBN: 0226104206

Full Citation Guide

Citation Guide
by Joe Marciniak, Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Aug 15, 2014
Use this guide to help choose a citation style appropriate for your subject or course. This page provides the call numbers for the various style manuals available in your library's reference collection, and links to electronic versions of the manuals...
223 views this year
 

Ask-a-librarian

Have a question? Ask Us!

Ask your librarians!

Your Name *
Your Email *
1. Select Patron Type: *
2. What is your question? *

Annotated Bib Defined

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

  • A list of citations to books, articles, and documents.
  • Each citation is followed by a descriptive and evaluative paragraph. (This is the "Annotation")
  • The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, quality of the source, and significance to the project.
 

Annotated Bibliography: What is it & how to?

 

Check-list for Citation Informtion

Use the following check-list to make sure you have all the information you need to create a citation of your sources:

  • Author(s) and/or Editor(s) Name
  • Title of the book, article or document
  • Year the item was published
  • Name of the publishing company
  • Place of publication (ex: New York)
  • Number of pages cited
  • For journal articles only: Title, Volume and Issue # of Journal
 

Need more help?

If you still need assistance with your Annotated Bib. after consulting this page:

  • Contact one of the Librarians! Use the "Ask-A-Librarian" form on this page to ask the librarians a quick question.
  • Is your question lengthy?  Phone or email Dr. Arthur Robinson, the Reference Librarian (contact info on the right-hand side of this page).
  • Visit the Writing & Tutoring Center for handouts and to meet with a writing tutor. The WTC is located in the Library's 24-hour study.

Related Guides

A-Z Database List
by Charlene Baxter, Joe Marciniak, Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Jun 3, 2014
A guide with an alphabetized list of the most recommended and commonly used Galileo databases, with direct links to each database from within the guide.
197 views this year
Annotation Guide
by Joe Marciniak, Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Feb 13, 2014
An online guide to assist students at LaGrange College with Annotated Bibliography assignments.
53 views this year
Citation Guide
by Joe Marciniak, Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Aug 15, 2014
Use this guide to help choose a citation style appropriate for your subject or course. This page provides the call numbers for the various style manuals available in your library's reference collection, and links to electronic versions of the manuals...
223 views this year
Copyright Guide
by Joe Marciniak - Last Updated Oct 16, 2014
This guide explains the basics of copyright, creative commons, fair use, and the public domain.
84 views this year
Databases by Subject
by Charlene Baxter, Joe Marciniak, Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
A list of databases organized by subjects, and categorized by the librarians at Lewis Library for easier navigation of and access to Galileo databases.
294 views this year
E-Book Guide
by Joe Marciniak, Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Mar 21, 2014
This simple online guide explains how to open and use E-Books from the Library Online Catalog.
7 views this year
Finding Full-Text Periodical Articles
by Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Sep 6, 2012
A guide for finding full-text periodical articles held by Lewis Library.
1 views this year
Interlibrary Loan Guide
by Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Jul 7, 2014
An online guide designed to inform students about Interlibrary Loan services, to assist patrons in submitting ILL requests, and more.
77 views this year
Reference Guide
by Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Sep 4, 2014
This guide serves as the home page for all things Reference at Lewis Library. Meet your reference librarians, learn about reference services available to you, and check out suggested resources and guides all from this page!
223 views this year
Subject Headings Guide
by Joe Marciniak, Arthur Robinson - Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
Use this guide to help you determine the appropriate Library of Congress subject heading for a topic you are searching for. This guide can assist in locating books or other items you are having trouble locating using the catalog's regular search methods.
18 views this year

Reference Librarian

Banner Photo by katerha, Some rights reserved | Layout & Design by Rachel Evans
© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved.
Layout & Design by Rachel Evans.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip