Skip to main content

History of the Middle Ages: Home and Reference

Welcome!

Welcome!

This library guide is designed for students in Dr. Shirley's course on the History of the Middle Ages, 350-1350 (HIST 3302, Spring 2016).  It incorporates material created by Loren Pinkerman, the retired Director of Lewis Library.

Thus is just a selection of the resources available.  Please don't hesitate to come to the reference desk for help on your specific topic, or e-mail the reference librarian.

If you need a book or article that we don’t have, please ask.  If it’s in a library in the U.S. that will lend it to us, we’ll get it for you on interlibrary loan.

 

 

Reference Books

​Reference books are usually the best place to start your research.  They’ll provide background information, terms, alternate spellings, and often a bibliography of recommended readings.  These are just a few of the reference books that may be useful, depending on your topic.

  • Dictionary of the Middle Ages (REF D 114 .D5 1983, 13 volumes)
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (REF D 114 .O94 2010, 4 volumes; also as e-book)
  • Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (REF CB 351 .E533 2000, 2 vols.)
  • Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C.-A.D.  1000 (REF D 62 .A522 2004, 2 vols.)
  • Encyclopedia of Ancient History (REF D 54 .E53 2013, 13 vols.)
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome (REF DE 5 .O95 2010, 7 vols.)
  • Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (REF DF 521 .O93 1991, 3 vols.)
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (REF DS 35.53 ,O955 2009, 5 vols.)
  • Medieval Italy (2 vols., REF DG 443 .M433 2004); we also have Medieval England (REF DA 129 .M433 1998), Medieval France (REF DC 33.2 .M444 1995), Medieval Germany (REF DD 157 .M433 2001)
  • Women in the Middle Ages:  An Encyclopedia(REF HQ 1143 .W643 2004, 2 vols.)
  • Books on military history are in the REF D 25 area (e.g., Magill’s Guide to Military History [5 vols.], Dictionary of Battles and Sieges [3 vols.]
  • Arts & Humanities through the Ages:  Medieval Europe, 814-1450 (REF NX 440 .A787 2005 v. 3)
  • Encyclopedia of the Black Death (REF RC 172 .B98 2012)
  • Encyclopedia of World Biography (REF CT 103 .E56 1997, 30 volumes)
  • Women in World History (REF HQ 1115 .W600 1999, 17 vols.; also online)
  • The Papacy:  An Encyclopedia(REF BX 955.2 .D533 2002, 3 vols.)
  • Milestone Documents in World History (REF D 5 .M53 2010; vol. 1 2350 BC-1058 CE, vol. 2 1082-1833)

Fountains Abbey by Loren L. Pinkerman

Wells Cathedral by Loren L. Pinkerman


Reference & ILL Librarian

Arthur Robinson
Contact:
Office 706-880-8289
Ref. Desk 706-880-8957
© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved