Suber Archives: Its Development and HistoryHilltop NewsQuadrangleThe ScrollLaGrange College CatalogsMiscellaneous Documents & PapersHistorical Campus PhotographsDobbs FirePrice Theatre ArchivesTime CapsuleMystery Photographs
Lamar Dodd and Richard Mallory Rock Collections
Carl J. Dodds Wesley CollectionLaFayette CollectionCarrie Fall BensonFrank McCook Israeli CollectionMiscellaneous ItemsCaylor Wesley Collection
Author PostersAuthors ExhibitCurrent ExhibitsRock CollectionsIsraeli ArtifactsSelu Project
Class of 1961Class of 1963Class of 1964Class of 1965
This is the "Home/Contact Us" page of the "Suber Archives & Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Suber Archives & Special Collections   Tags: archives, collections, exhibit, exhibits, special collections, suber archives and special collections  

This is the homepage of archvies and special collections at Lewis Library. From this page you can discover digitized archives, collections, and past and current exhibits, as well as information about archives and special collections mission and history.
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2014 URL: http://lagrange.campusguides.com/archives_specialcollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home/Contact Us Print Page
  Search: 
 

Archives Assistant

Profile Image
Jacque Hornsby
Contact Info
706-880-8995
Send Email
 

Who Were Frank and Laura Lewis?

In 2009 The Frank and Laura Lewis Library opened its doors. The move from the old Banks Library to the new Frank and Laura Lewis Library opened a facility that would enable LaGrange College to better preserve its history and make its Archives and Special Collections more readily available to faculty, staff, and students as well as other visitors.


Frank Lewis became the first African-American library Director and the new Frank and Laura Lewis Library was named in his and his wife Laura's honor. 

To watch a video made for the 2009 opening of the library, please click on the arrow.  For a full view, click on the brackets on the bottom right.  Hit the escape key to go back to the home page.

 

 

Frank Lewis Interview

Frank Lewis was the first African-American library Director and the new Frank and Laura Lewis Library was named in his and his wife Laura's honor.

For an interview of Frank Lewis conducted by Mike Moncus for the Troup County Archives,  please click on the link below.  Please be patient as it may take some time to open. 

 

Mission Statement & History

Welcome to the Suber Archives and Special Collections, located on the lower level of the Lewis Library at LaGrange College.  Since we've been in our new location, we have been locating items on campus that can be housed in a central location, enabling us to consolidate and inventory artifacts, documents, books, and other LaGrange College memorabiliia that augments the history of the college.  Portions of our holdings have been digitized and as they become available we will share them with you. Check back often and see what's new!

Mission Statement

"The mission of the Suber Archives and Special Collections of Frank and Laura Lewis Library is to collect, preserve and provide access to the historical records of LaGrange College’s most essential functions and activities in order to document the evolution of the institution. Further, Suber Archives and Special Collections serves pertinent research needs of the institution as well as those of the greater academic and public user community."

History 

The Frank and Laura Lewis Library was formally open for business on April 17, 2009.  For the first time in college history there was a specific space for the Archives and Special Collections.  On a cold January day in 2009,  the contents from the old Melson Room, were were moved to their new home in January, 2009.  The Archives and its organization is a work in progress, focusing on collecting old documents and other vital information for preservation relevant to the history of LaGrange College. 

 

From the  Melson Room in the old Banks Library to the Suber Archives in the Frank and Laura Lewis Library.    

       

 

Suber Archives: Its Development and History


         Interest in preserving documents and artifacts relevant to the history of the LaGrange College is long standing.  Official documents such as minutes of the Board of Trustee meetings, the academic catalog and the president’s annual report have been collected and maintained by administrative personnel of the College.   For decades the College Library, the Alumni Office, and The Office of Institutional Relations, now the Office of Communications and Marketing, actively collected and continues to collect materials chronicling the history of LaGrange College.   Additional collections were also maintained by the Alumni Association.


             In 1978, prompted by the request of Mrs. Linda M. Johnston, Class of 1936, the Alumni Council approved the creation of an Archives Committee.  Mrs. Johnston agreed to serve as chairman of the committee.  Dr. Samuel G. Hornsby, Jr., Professor of English, accepted an invitation to join the committee as a campus representative.  As the scope of the project became evident, Mrs. Johnston withdrew from the chairmanship, recommending that members of the committee be drawn from local alumni and LaGrange College staff.  The first meeting of the Archives Committee of LaGrange College took place on April 22, 1979.  The committee was comprised of:  Dr. Waights G. Henry, Jr., Chancellor; Dr. Sam G. Hornsby, Jr., Professor of English; John Lawrence, Associate Professor of Art; Miss Kathryn Cline, alumna; Mrs. Henderson Traylor, Jr., alumna; Mrs. Hubert Dyar, alumna; Mrs. Sam G. Hornsby, Jr., alumna; Seale Hipp, alumnus; Miss Elizabeth Reeves, alumna; Miss Lillian Clark, alumna and Mrs. Carolyn Burgess, Alumni Director.  

Miss Clark’s minutes and undated notes detail the work of this committee during the next eight years.  An initial budget of five thousand dollars was provided to fund the work of the committee.  Preservation of the Alumni Association’s large collection of photographs including class composites dating from 1888 was the first major task untaken by the committee.  Subsequently two rooms located in the north-west wing of Smith Hall were designated for use by the Archives as the collection of documents and memorabilia expanded.  Unofficial oversight of the collection was assumed by the Alumni Office.

In 1983 the Forward Fund of LaGrange College was established to fund the renovation Smith Hall.  When the renovation work began in 1987 a significant portion of the archival collection housed in Smith Hall was placed on deposit at the Troup County Archives.  See www.trouparchives.org.  For the next decade and a half selected records and memorabilia continued to be transferred to Troup County Archives while other archival materials remained on campus.  

In 1998 Loren Pinkerman was appointed director of LaGrange College’s William and Evelyn Banks Library.  Hired in part to help bring to fruition the College’s goal of building a sorely needed new library, Pinkerman also shared with President Stuart Gulley the vision of a working on-campus archive.  Throughout the library planning process with consultant Jay Lucker and various focus groups, the need for an archive was articulated.  Groundbreaking for LaGrange College’s Frank and Laura Lewis Library took place on October 26, 2007.  During January of 2009 the library’s holdings were moved into the newly completed facility which included a designated archive.  Staffed by two part-time library employees, Suber Archives and Special Collections, named for LaGrange College benefactor Charles Edwin Suber, was formally dedicated on March 29, 2010.

Suber Archives and Special Collections remains a work in progress.  It is proving to be a vital and exciting venture.  We invite you to browse our website and return often.

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

Copyright Information

While we are happy to share our collections with our viewers, they remain the property of LaGrange College, Suber Archives and Special Collections.  For permission to use an image found on our site, please complete the form.  Thank you.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Special Collections Assistant

Profile Image
Patricia Barrett
Contact Info
706-880-8995
Send Email
 

Suber Archives - What We Do

For a full screen view, click on the brackets at the bottom right.  Hit the escape button on your computer to go back to page.

© 2011 LaGrange College | 601 Broad Street, LaGrange, GA 30240 | www.lagrange.edu
Default/main header image used:Attribution Some rights reserved.
Layout & Design by Rachel Evans.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip